Working through Setbacks

I’d like to say “Thank you” to Dr. King.  I believe Jesus was about equality for all people and in that way you did Kingdom work.  Thank you for all you contributed to our country as well as the extra day to take a break from school.

I love homeschooling so much and one of the things I love the most is being able to let my kids dictate, somewhat, when to take a day off.  My youngest decided today would be a good day since everyone else is off too.  So that means mom get a day off too.  Woohoo!

Truthfully, I have a limited understanding of the life of MLK.  I know the basics and those facts confirm that he had many setbacks in life.  He wouldn’t have made the kind of impact he did if he’d let those setbacks cause him to give up.  I believe there is something here that we can apply to our spiritual lives.

The message I hear the Lord speaking to me today is: Don’t give up!

I have had a setback.  They happen.  Even when we seek Jesus with everything we have. Even when feel like we’re cruising along just peachy.  They can come out of nowhere and knock us down.  But no matter how surprised we are by the setback, Jesus is NEVER surprised.  He’s always present with us and He has a Sovereign understanding of the every situation.

Saturday night I went to church with my parents.  The message was on the rebuilding of the wall in Nehemiah 4.  In the points I took from the message, I hear Jesus whispering, “I’m here, I’m working even in the setback.  Don’t give up just because your perception is clouding the progress you are making.  Don’t devalue what I’m doing just because you haven’t reached the place I am taking you. Sit in this moment with me. I can use this for your benefit.  Don’t quit.”

Then in His word he says this; “Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit, apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:4

My heart so desires to bear lots fruit.  I have a solid understanding that apart from Him I really can do nothing.  But it’s just so hard sometimes and I’m often inpatient.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go: I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.” Psalm 32:8  Thank you Father that all of your instruction comes with your loving eye on me.

Much like Pastor Gary mentioned yesterday, the Spirit is always working on our behalf.  I can see Him at work here.  In the midst of my setback, He is lovingly reassuring me He is present, guiding me in the way He wants me to go.

It’s pretty black and white. I don’t have a choice.  I can’t give up. Instead I have to find Him in the waiting. I have to trust that He IS working through the setbacks.

 

 

About MywalkwithJesus

I'm just a girl trying her best to walk with Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working through Setbacks

  1. Patsy Kirschner says:

    Thank you for sharing 😘

Leave a Reply

