Christmas Crafts

This Christmas we are finding it necessary to be VERY frugal.  Thankfully, pinterest has afforded me many, many great ideas.  This week I tried out my first endeavor; candy cane marshmallow stir sticks.  I kinda adapted this from several different ideas I saw and I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.  Here’s what I did:

I took regular candy canes and broke off the curved part so I had a straight piece.  Then I pushed a marshmallow onto the one end, being sure I took off the wrapper so no one would have to eat plastic. Confused smile  Here’s where I ran into a little bit of difficulty.  I used milk chocolate, simply because I like it better than semi-sweet, and it didn’t seem to melt very well.  Since I don’t have a microwave I had to do it on the stove and it was way too thick.  I would have added some shortening to thin it out but I think shortening is GROSS so I don’t have any in the house.  So instead of being able to dip the marshmallow into the melted chocolate I had to “paint” the chocolate on with a spoon.  Then I dipped them into red & green sprinkles and set them out to harden.  I felt pretty proud of myself for figuring out a way to keep them all upright and separated.

002

To make it into a gift I put some hot chocolate mixes into $0.97 Christmas tin, added the candy cane stirrers and some tissue paper.  I think it would be a little better with a cute Christmas mug instead of a tin but Walmart only had the tins.  I was pretty happy with the end result and even more happy that it only cost me $2.17 to make.  I gave this one to my secret sister.

006 

Like I said, this is just my first endeavor but I won’t be able to share all of them because it might give away someone’s Christmas gift. 

About MywalkwithJesus

I'm just a girl trying her best to walk with Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Crafts

  1. My Pinteresting Home says:

    Care to share any other christmas crafts now that the season’s over. I loved your photo coasters, you should write up a step by step if you can. Love you sis.

Leave a Reply

